Posted in Uncategorized

Living a dream and protecting a promise

Reflecting on people that I have met in my life, I can think of two people that I know without a doubt are actually living out their dream. Don’t get me wrong, I believe I am surrounded by many happy people who love what they do. There is something different about the two people that come to my mind. They both live a with a satisfaction and joy that I don’t quite see in other people. Their energy seems to infect so many people in such a positive and inspirational manner. They seem to play a symphony they in such harmony with God and all of the world that is absolutely inspirational.

One of those individuals is a guy I have always admired and still admire for being a man of such great character and integrity. I met him in middle school and he always dreamed of being a fireman. Today, he is living his dream and it fascinates me.

The other person is someone I have known for a little over 15 years. I was pretty confident quickly after I met her that there was something very special about her. She was just finishing nursing school when I met her and from the time she was a little girl she dreamed of being a nurse. She has been living her dream ever since graduating and becoming a nurse. She is my beautiful, precious, and wonderful wife and she has not fallen short of her dream. She loves what she does every day.

Tomorrow, she will sets sail on a new part of her dream. She will begin studying for a Masters of Science in Nursing. She is excited and anxious to get started. She knows the path she is taking will not be easy, but she is not afraid. She knows the work will be hard at times, but she is prepared and ready for the challenge.

As she takes the first step on this part of the path in her journey and we begin to organize our family life, I am the one that is afraid. I am not afraid of her failing or struggling in the program. I am afraid of the impact this will have on our family. I am afraid that I will not have the patience, the knowledge, or the skills to carry more of the weight so she can focus. I am afraid I will let her down and get in the way of her dream. I am afraid I will fail her.

I have to stay focused on the promise I made almost 12 years ago. I made her a promise that I would never let her down and that I would always stand by her side. I certainly can’t let myself get in her way. I have to partner with her as she lives her dream. I have to partner with our boys to stay out of her way. The only action plan I know to take is to strap down my armor of God to help deflect any anxiety, fear, uncertainty, or negativity that may meddle with her passion and dream. She deserves to continue to live her dream. She deserves the same satisfaction and joy that I get by being married to her – the best partner I could have ever hoped for in my life.

So, Mariah I am putting on God’s armor along with Madden, Miles, and Max. Together we will stand on guard and protect your path so that nothing gets in your way.

4 thoughts on “Living a dream and protecting a promise

  1. Mike,
    The two of you are living the dream together… that’s what happens when you couple love and faith with the covenant of marriage… it take 1+1 and makes them equal 3. We become more than what we ever thought possible.

    Dad Forbes

    Like

  2. Michael
    I am so proud of you and Mariah. You know you have always impressed me with your dedication to your dream and goals. Your love of family, your fellow man, and the Lord is an inspiration to many. May God continue to bless you in all your endeavors. And you will not fail your family because your strength comes from the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

